Florida Marriage License Information
The bride and groom must appear in person to sign the application. The Marriage License is issued at the time of application. Once an application is made, amendments to the Marriage License can only be done by a court order. The license is effective immediately for out-of-state residents and Florida residents who present premarital course certificate. There is a three-day waiting period for Florida residents who have not attended a premarital course. Florida residents may apply for a hardship waiver to eliminate the waiting period. This waiver must be signed by a judge. Applicants must read the "Family Law" handbook provided and sign an affidavit to that effect.
Applicants must provide a photo identification with date of birth, such as a driver license, passport or employment/student ID.
Prospective brides and grooms must be at least 18 years old to obtain a marriage license. Those who are 16 to 17 years old must have parental consent. Children under the age of 16 must meet the following requirements:Parental consent form must be signed & notarized.A letter from a doctor confirming pregnancy or existence of a child.An affidavit signed by applicants and stating the reason for marriage must be presented to a judge.The judge signs the license, indicating consent.
FeesA marriage license costs $93.50. If evidence of a premarital course has been presented, the fee is $61. If the ceremony is performed in the Collier County Clerk of the Circuit Court's office, there is an additional fee of $30.
Additional InformationA marriage license must be used within 60 days from the issue date.
If the last marriage ended in divorce, dissolutionment, annulment or death, applicants should produce a copy of the final judgment or decree. If no copies are available, applicants must know the exact date, city, county and state, where the event occured. A Social Security Number is required for a license, but is not public information.
The marriage ceremony can be performed by ordained clergy, judiciary, clerks of courts, deputy clerks and notaries of the state of Florida.
The license must be returned to the Clerk of Circuit Court office within 10 days after the ceremony. It should be addressed ATTENTION: Marriage License. There is no record of the marriage in the clerk's office until it is received and recorded. One certified copy is provided at the time of recording and additional certified copies may be purchased for $3 each.
Marriage licenses can be obtained at Collier County Administration Building F, 4th Floor, 3301 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, FL 34112, as well as most of the county clerk's satellite offices. You can find their locations here.
Top of Page