Skip to main content

All Aboard for Thomas & Friends™: Explore the Rails! Fun at Golisano Children’s Museum of Naples

April 22, 2024 - May 14, 2024
Thomas the Train Photo
Thomas the Train Photo
Backyard Bash Photo 2
Backyard Bash Photo 2
C'mon front door Photo 3
C'mon front door Photo 3

All aboard! The world's most beloved #1 blue engine will roll into Golisano Children's Museum of Naples (CMON) this spring for exciting fun and adventure. Thomas & Friends™: Explore the Rails!, an interactive exhibit created by Minnesota Children's Museum and inspired by the popular children's series now on Nick Jr, will steam into CMON Naples on January 27 through May 14.

Featuring the favorite engines and destinations from Thomas & Friends™, the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) –focused exhibit seeks to engage children, ages 2 through 7, and families in foundational skills that foster STEM literacy through playful learning experiences. The exhibit incorporates foundational STEM practices that encourage thinking mathematically, making comparisons, experimenting to solve problems using a variety of methods and tools, thinking creatively, and reflecting on actions and results.

Visitors to the exhibit will be delighted as they find themselves surrounded by the Island of Sodor's iconic locations: Knapford Station, Sodor Steamworks, and much more. In the exhibit, children help Thomas and his friends solve a variety of challenges, from a simple sorting and shape identification activity to more complex engineering obstacles, such as completing a train track using track pieces with different levels of elevation. As children encounter new challenges and test their abilities, the smiling faces of Thomas, Percy, Victor, and others are there to offer encouragement and remind children how "really useful" they all are.

Inside the Exhibit:

•       Climb into Thomas' cab and explore the engine's inner workings. Flip levers and investigate other movable parts that trigger train noises such as braking, whistles, and steam.

•       Fix Percy's wobbly wheel by removing and replacing parts and experimenting to find a combination of wheels, rods, and bolts that work.

•       Explore the favorite Island of Sodor destinations including: Tidmouth Sheds, Brendam Docks and the Sodor Search & Rescue Station on an oversized Thomas Wooden Railway train table.

•       Work with old and new friends loading luggage, livestock, and other freight into the coaches of two train cars.

•       Collaborate with others to get Percy moving by loading coal into his coal box and filling his tank with water from a water tower.

•       Suit up as the conductor to exchange money and sell tickets to other visitors taking a ride on the train.

•       Wander through a Thomas & Friends retrospective featuring model engines from the original live action series produced in London, copies of the original drawings and manuscripts from the Rev. W. Awdry, the creator of Thomas & Friends, and a collection of memorabilia documenting the history and evolution of Thomas & Friends through books, television, and toys.

The Thomas & Friends exhibit was designed and developed by Minnesota Children's Museum in partnership with Mattel, Inc. Fisher-Price, the leading manufacturer of infant and preschool toys, is the presenting sponsor for the exhibit.

Admission to Thomas & Friends: Explore the Rails! is included with admission. For more information about the exhibit at CMON, please visit cmon.org. For information about the overall Thomas & Friends: Explore the Rails! tour, visit: www.thomasandfriends.com/en-us/events.

Dates
From April 22, 2024 - May 14, 2024
Mon, Apr 22, 2024 All Day
Tue, Apr 23, 2024 All Day
Wed, Apr 24, 2024 All Day
Thu, Apr 25, 2024 All Day
Fri, Apr 26, 2024 All Day
Sat, Apr 27, 2024 All Day
Sun, Apr 28, 2024 All Day
Mon, Apr 29, 2024 All Day
Tue, Apr 30, 2024 All Day
Wed, May 1, 2024 All Day
Thu, May 2, 2024 All Day
Fri, May 3, 2024 All Day
Sat, May 4, 2024 All Day
Sun, May 5, 2024 All Day
Mon, May 6, 2024 All Day
Tue, May 7, 2024 All Day
Wed, May 8, 2024 All Day
Thu, May 9, 2024 All Day
Fri, May 10, 2024 All Day
Sat, May 11, 2024 All Day
Sun, May 12, 2024 All Day
Mon, May 13, 2024 All Day
Tue, May 14, 2024 All Day